Home > Uncategorized > Take Two.

Take Two.

So, uh. How ’bout that local sports team?

I don’t believe in bullshitting people, so I’ll just give it to you straight: I’m somewhat notorious for concocting grandiose plans and then failing to follow through on them. This blog just happened to be another sad chapter in that particular book of Zaratha’s Awesomely Stereotypical Gemini Tendencies. In fairness, life sort of ate my face for a while too, but that’s neither here nor there. Before I knew it, guilt about abandoning this idea before I ever really got it off the ground ate me up, and I didn’t know how to pick this up again or even if I should.

Here’s the thing, though: I’ve noticed that the Universe has a way of kicking us in the pants if we’re not doing what we’re Supposed to be doing. By “the Universe”, I mean my patron Goddess, and by “us”, I mean me. It’s not enough for me to piss in the wind every time someone uses racist dogwhistles to defend hir particular spiritual path, or some bloviating douchebag outs hirself as a fascist in the comments of a Very Popular Pagan Blog. It’s not enough to rage in private on Dreamwidth and Livejournal, or on AIM to my partner or friends. It might be cathartic for a little while, but preaching to the choir never really changes anything.

This sort of thing kept happening, and kept happening, and every time it happened, I’d think to myself, “I need to get back to that blog. There needs to be a Pagan space explicitly devoted to anti-oppression principles, or simply talking about spirituality from the POV of a queer Pagan of Color.”

So in the spirit of that notion, I’m cutting away the guilt and dusting this space off. What’s important is that it’s here, and that I’m making a commitment to keeping it here, whether it’s prolific or not.

–Z.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 19, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    I’m surprised there isn’t already somebody else covering that field, but maybe pagans of color are just that thin on the ground to begin with. Can’t imagine why.

    So anyway, how long have you been into voodoo? XD

    • December 19, 2010 at 11:03 pm

      No kidding. I know we exist, I’ve met and talked to us, but we’re all basically solitary because people are fucking stupid. And yeah, that it’s sort of left to me is…yeah. I think we’re kind of fucked, dude.

      To answer your question: about as long as I’ve been into Scientology.

  2. Rawley Cooper
    December 20, 2010 at 4:11 am

    Good for you. And good luck with the blog.

  3. March 1, 2011 at 10:17 am

    There needs to be a Pagan space explicitly devoted to anti-oppression principles

    YEEEESSSSSSSSSSS ZOMG.

    Thank you so much for offering that space. It is so bewildering to me when we seem to think we can practise our religion/s without anti-oppression and expect any good to come of it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

